top of page

Banana Oatmeal Pound Cake


I had really wanted to make this before. But I never got a chance to because we were always out of bananas! I could have gone to the market to get them, of course, but I was too lazy. When there were bananas in the house, I was too busy to make this pound cake. But today I decided to go to the market and get those bananas.

I think I'm a little bit lazy these days. The weather has already turned and now we're about to plunge into the heat of summer. And yeah, the heat has an effect!

I have four major subjects in homeschooling: English, Science, Socials, and Math. I finished my math for this year. But for the remaining three subjects, I need to do a final projects for each of them. Whew! I just need to focus again and tackle them!

Now about this banana oatmeal pound cake, I really like how the photos turned out in the twilight sun. My dad hurriedly took those photos for me before the sun set. We went rollerblading after that. I had fun rollerblading and eating this when I came home!

The pound cake has a really nutty flavour to it with a subtle sweetness. It has a very fluffy crumb and the oatmeals add a nice crunch!

BANANA OATMEAL POUND CAKE

Ingredients

-About 2 and a half bananas (300g)

-160g room-temp. butter

-140g white granulated sugar

-pinch of salt

-3 room-temp. eggs

-300g all-purpose flour

-1 tsp. baking powder

-40g chopped walnuts

-40g oatmeal

-5g of oatmeal for decoration (do not use in batter)

Instructions

First line a pound cake pan (25cm in length) with parchment paper.

1. Mash the bananas until smooth, with a fork.

2. Place butter into a large bowl and stir with a wooden spoon until creamy.

3. Add the salt and the sugar in three additions and beat with a hand mixer after each addition. (One minute after each addition, 3 min. in total) The butter should be a pale ivory color when finished.

4. Just like the sugar, add the eggs one by one, beating for 1 minute after each addition. (3 min. in total.) The finished mixture should be soft and creamy. Preheat your oven at this point to 180 degrees C.

5. Sift in the flour and baking powder. Stir it (with a spatula) into the butter mixture until almost combined.

6. Add the banana mixture and stir until combined.

7. Add the walnuts and oatmeal and lightly stir until just incorporated. Don't overmix.

8. Pour the batter into your pan lined with parchment paper. With your spatula, smooth the batter out. Make the center deep and the sides high, because the center will rise a lot.

9. Sprinkle your 5g of oatmeal on top of the pound cake batter.

10. Bake the pound cake in your preheated oven for 15 minutes. Then make a 1cm deep cut vertically thorugh the middle so that your pound cake cracks in a pretty way. :)

11. Bake the pound cake for 35-40 more minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Tip: I often cover my cakes, cookies, pies, pound cakes, and more with alumium foil 3/4 of the way into baking so that the top doesn't brown too much. Then I take the foil off about 10 minutes before the baking finishes.

Enjoy your pound cake!

Recipe adapted from a Korean cookbook named 진짜 기본 베이킹 책 by super recipes. http://www.super-recipe.co.kr/etc_06/etc_s4_01.php?inc=view&idx=130&tbname=notice

Related Posts

See All
Related Posts
bottom of page