top of page

Oatmeal Cookies


I LOVE oatmeal cookies. They're so full of texture! As a bonus, they're SO easy to make. I promise that these cookies will take like 20 minutes from start to finish! Oh, and these can easily be done by hand, with a sturdy wooden spoon. I mean, how easier can it get? That's why I make them so often...My brother says that he's so tired of oatmeal cookies (because he's more of a chocolate chip type) but I just don't see how anyone can get tired of them...Are you like me?

Anyways, I've noticed that most oatmeal cookie recipes contain WAY more sugar than flour. That results in hard cookies full of huge air holes! So I made my own recipe which is perfect in my opinion, because it's chewy in the middle, crispy on the edges, sweet but not too sweet, and just like how an oatmeal cookie should taste like.

Check out my recipe below!

Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients

-1 1/2 cups rolled oats

-3/4 cups all-purpose flour

-1/2 cup raisins

-1 tsp lemon juice

-1/2 cup chopped almonds or walnuts

-1/2 tsp baking powder

-2 pinches of salt

-85 grams (6 tbsp.) room temperature butter

-1/3 cup light brown sugar

-3 tbsp. granulated white sugar

-1 egg

-1 tsp vanilla sugar (or vanilla extract)

Instructions

1. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

2. Line two baking pans with parchment paper.

3. Soak raisins in lemon juice, set aside.

4. Add rolled oats, flour, baking powder, vanilla, raisins, nuts, & salt into a bowl and stir well with a fork. Set aside.

5. In another bowl cream the butter first and then add the two types of sugar little by little. Do NOT over-cream.

6. Add the egg and stir well.

7. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and cut it in to form a cookie dough.

8. Roll spoonfuls of dough into balls and place them on the lined pans. Flatten with your fingers, as these cookies don't spread much. (Note: Exchange baking soda for baking powder if you want spread and not puff)

9. Bake for 15-20 minutes until the tops are golden brown.

Inspired by Everyday Food with Sarah Carey: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6nfwzawEcM

bottom of page