top of page

Blueberry Yogurt Muffins


These blueberry yogurt muffins were light, moist, flavourful, and delicious! So I was just looking for something to bake today, and I didn't want something too hard like breads or something too easy like cookies. I figured that muffins were just the thing. And since it's summer, I decided to make muffins with fruit inside them.

I think what makes these muffins so tasty is the yogurt. It adds a nice flavour to the muffins. Also, I marinated the dried blueberries in some lemon juice and the result was that they had a burst of flavour. It would have been nice if I had baked with fresh, juicy blueberries in the first place, but where I live, there are no blueberries. :(

Before writing the recipe, I want to mention that I didn't use any muffin liners for these blueberry yogurt muffins. And they came out fine, in my opinion. If you want to be fancy you could use muffin liners...But I would save them for when I bake cupcakes or mini cheesecakes! Muffin liners run out very fast so I try and not use them too often.

Blueberry Yogurt Muffins (Yields 12 muffins)

Ingredients

-150g dried blueberries

-3/4 tbsp. water + 3/4 tbsp. lemon juice

-120g room-temp. butter

-105g white granulated sugar

-1/4 tsp. + pinch of salt

-3 room-temp. eggs

-255g all-purpose flour

-3/4 tsp. baking powder

-75ml milk

-120g plain yogurt

Instructions

1. Place the blueberries in a bowl and add water and lemon juice. Stir with a fork and set aside to rest for 1 hour. (Just let it rest during the time you measure out ingredients and make the batter) Stir occasionally for even marinating during resting time.

2. Line a 12-hole muffin tin with liners if desired. (I went without the liners)

3. In a bowl, sift together flour and baking powder. Set aside.

4. Add butter to a large bowl and stir with a wooden spoon until creamy.

5. Add the sugar to the butter in two additions. With a hand-mixer, beat for 1 minute after each addition. Beat for 1 more minute if needed. The finished mixture should be pale, light, and fluffy.

6. Add the eggs one at a time and beat for 1 minute after each addition. The finished mixture should be soft and creamy.

Preheat your oven at this point to 180 degrees C.

7. Add the sifted flour mixture to the wet mixture. Fold with a spatula until barely incorporated.

8. In a cup, whisk together yogurt and milk with a fork. Add it to the batter and fold with a spatula just until incorporated.

9. Lastly, add the blueberries to the batter and fold lightly to incorporate.

10. With a spoon, divide the batter between the 12 muffin cups, filling each hole 80% full.

11. Bake the muffins for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean and the tops are golden brown.

12. Transfer to a wire rack to let them cool. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from a Korean cookbook named 진짜 기본 베이킹 책 by super recipes. http://www.super-recipe.co.kr/etc_06/etc_s4_01.php?inc=view&idx=130&tbname=notice

bottom of page