top of page

Snickerdoodles

Snickerdoodles...They really sounded boring to me. Basic cookies coated with cinnamon couldn't taste all that good, could they? That was what I had thought. But when I tried this recipe and had a bite of those cookies, I couldn't help but have another one.

I made these snickerdoodles (even though I had thought they would be boring) because they were very simple to make. These days I don't feel like making any complicated baked goods. That's probably because my homeschooling is finished now. When I have a lot of schoolwork to do, I sit there thinking about all the cool things I could bake if I didn't have so much work. But when I actually have a lot of free time, I just get lazy and all those cool things I had wanted to bake just seem to vanish from my thoughts. So then, I resolve to making something simple instead.

So that's my little story of why I baked snickerdoodles. I was origininally planning to make something more fancy...Like a cheesecake, tart, pie, or cake. But now I'm so glad I tried those cinnamon sugar cookies because they turned out cinnamony, crisp on the edges, and chewy in the middle! As a bonus, while they were baking in the oven, the whole kitchen filled with the delicious aroma of cinnamon. Yum!

I'm surely going to bake these cookies again and again. But before that, I'm going to post the recipe on this blog so that I can follow it next time I bake snickerdoodles.

Snickerdoodles (Yields 19 cookies)

Ingredients

FOR THE COOKIES

-1 cup + 6 tbsp. all-purpose flour

-1/4 tsp. salt

-1 tsp. baking powder

-115g room-temp. butter

-3/4 cup white granulated sugar

-1 large room-temp. egg

-1/2 tsp. vanilla sugar

FOR THE CINNAMON COATING

-2 tbsp. + 2 tsp. white granulated sugar

-1 tsp. cinnamon powder

Instructions

FOR THE COOKIES

1. In a bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, salt, and vanilla sugar. Give it a whisk and set aside.

2. In another bowl, stir the butter with a wooden spoon until creamy.

3. Add the sugar in two to three additions, stirring rapidly after each addition.

4. Add the egg and stir well. Remember to scrape down the sides of the bowl constantly.

5. Add the flour and fold it in with a spatula until a soft dough forms.

Preheat your oven at this point to 190 degrees C. Also line two baking pans with parchment paper.

6. With a spoon, scoop pieces of dough out and form them into 1 inch round balls. Just eyeball it. :)

FOR THE COATING

7. In a plate, whisk together the sugar and cinnamon. (with a fork)

8. Roll the balls of cookie dough in the cinnamon sugar and place them on the lined baking pans. Make sure to space them out quite a lot, as they spread into about 3 inch diameter cookies.

9. With the bottom of a glass, flatten each cookie slightly.

10. Bake the cookies for about 8-10 minutes until golden brown around the edges. The centers will still be soft.

11. Place the snickerdoodles on a wire rack to cool or eat them warm right away. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Joy of Baking. http://www.joyofbaking.com/Snickerdoodles.html

bottom of page