top of page

Basic Pie Crust Recipe

It's been quite a while since I've abandoned my Homemade Delights blog. I've been in Korea for these past few months (for summer vacation), and there were so many things to do there that I didn't even have to work on my blog. What I mean is that my blog is there for me to work on when I'm bored, as a hobby, so when I have lots of fun things to do I don't get to work on it.

And now I'm back, and I feel like working on my blog again. Homeschooling starts on September 14th and I'm getting ready for it. But this evening, I just want to enjoy myself by typing away in here. I'm both excited and sad to start schooling again. I'm excited because I feel like studying after loads of playing, but I'm sad because, well, school...isn't exactly entirely fun. >.<

Now to the pie crust: I actually baked this pie crust way before, before I went to Korea. But I never got a chance to work on this blog since then, so I'm posting this now, 2 months later. Because a basic pie crust is worth posting. Basics are always important, since you always make something fabulous out of the basics you've learned. This pie crust is really nice because it does not involve weird or rare ingredients, it's classic, and the method is simple. The taste of it is really nice too, because it's buttery and flaky-a texture that is indispensable in pie crusts. So, this pie crust is my go-to recipe for whenever I make pies.

Here's my pie crust, all pricked and blind-baked in my glass pie plate. And this is how you make it:

Basic Pie Crust (Yields enough dough to fit a 10 1/4 inch diameter pie plate with a top crust)

Ingredients

-300g all-purpose flour

-1 1/2 tbsp. sugar

-3 pinches of salt

-225g cold butter, cut into cubes

-1/2 cup + 1 tbsp ice cold water

Instructions

1. Whisk together flour, sugar, and salt.

2. Add cold butter pieces to your flour mixture and coat each piece with the flour by giving it a light toss with your rubber spatula.

3. With a scraper, cut the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs with some pea-sized grains of butter in it.

4. Add ice water to the mixture, little by little, because you probably don't need all of it. Cut the water into the mixture with your rubber spatula, and when the dough comes together, transfer it to a sheet of plastic wrap.

5. Shape and flatten the dough into a disk and refrigerate for at least 1 hour (or freeze 30 minutes) until ready for use.

That's it! Real simple, easy, and delicious.

Recipe adapted from a Korean cookbook named 진짜 기본 베이킹 책 by super recipes. http://www.super-recipe.co.kr/etc_06/etc_s4_01.php?inc=view&idx=130&tbname=notice

bottom of page