top of page

Jam Thumbprint Cookies

I was really tempted to write the title as "peanut butter 'n jelly blossom cookies" but chose not too. These cookies have peanut butter inside them, so that's where I got the idea. But I think I should just go with the real name. PBJ Blossom Cookies may sound silly. :)

Homeschooling started on Monday this week and so far I've been doing good at it. I wake up early, complete the subjects in time, and try my best. I'm glad I'm not being lazy anymore!

Oh, I also saw that 8th grade had a subject called Applied Skills. It involves a skill that you choose to do. I chose to do sewing and baking for that subject. It's great because I can actually do schoolwork while enjoying my hobbies. ^o^

Even this blog contributes to my homeschooling. Yay!

There's only one picture above of my cookies because the sun had set when the pictures were taken so most of the photos weren't very good. Only that one was really good, I think.

Now here's the recipe for jam thumbprint cookies: (Or PBJ Blossom Cookies!) lol

Jam Thumbprint Cookies (Makes 20 cookies)

Ingredients

-70g room-temp. butter

-30g peanut butter

-100g powdered sugar

-pinch of salt

-2 egg yolks

-120g all-purpose flour

-50g almond meal

-rasberry, strawberry, or blackberry jam

-1 egg white

-50g finely chopped almonds

Instructions

First line two baking pans with parchment paper.

1. Whisk together peanut butter and butter until creamy. Add the powdered sugar and salt and whisk until creamy and combined.

2. Add the egg yolks and whisk rapidly until softly creamy.

3. Sift in flour and almond meal and cut it in with a spatula until fully incorporated but don't overmix.

Preheat your oven at this point to 180 degrees C.

4. Shape the dough into balls about 4cm in diameter. Dip them in egg white then roll them in the chopped almonds. Spread them at least 2cm apart from other cookies on the pan. Flatten the balls slightly, with fingers, to 1cm thickness.

5. Bake them in the oven for 15 minutes until golden brown and have small cracks.

6. After getting them out of the oven, immediately (and carefully) make holes in the cookies using the back end of a wooden chopstick.

7. With a little spoon, spoon a little dollop of jam on each hole and transfer thumbprint cookies to a serving plate.

8. Cool and enjoy!

Ps. Aren't these cookies supposed to be made in the holidays? One thing about me when I bake is that I tend to forget the season and just bake what I want. >.<

Recipe adapted from a Korean cookbook named 진짜 기본 베이킹 책 by super recipes. http://www.super-recipe.co.kr/etc_06/etc_s4_01.php?inc=view&idx=130&tbname=notice

bottom of page