top of page

Plum Cobbler with Oat Crumble Topping

I've never made a cobbler before. The main reason was, I didn't know what it was, and when I found out, I didn't think it would be very yummy. But one day I was just skimming through the Martha Stewart baking handbook wondering what to bake, and I looked at a picture of this particular cobbler. Suddenly I just had to make it because it looked so juicy and crumbly!

Maybe it's weird that I didn't know what a cobbler was until now. But I'm from a Korean family, so pies and cobblers are a little bit foreign to me. Foreign or not, however, I enjoy baking them and eating them now.

After I finished baking this pie, I couldn't wait to dive my spoon into it. It smelled very delicious, fresh out of the oven. When I tasted it, it was really yummy, with vanilla ice cream as a bonus!

But a little problem about this pie was that it was gigantic for my family. A 10 inch pie is pretty big. Next time I'm going to bake at littler amounts. >.<

Plum Cobbler with Oat Crumble Topping (Makes one 10 1/4 inch cobbler)

Ingredients

-227g butter, cold, cut into small pieces

-2 1/4 cups all-purpoe flour

-3/4 cup packed light brow sugar

-1/3 + 1/2 cup granulated white sugar

-1/2 tsp. cinnamon powder

-1/2 tsp. salt

-1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

-2 to 2 1/2 pounds black plums, halved, pitted, and cut into eight pieces

-juice of 1/2 a lemon

-2 tbsp. corn starch

-vanilla icecream for serving (optional)

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees C.

2. Butter your deep dish pie plate and place it on a baking pan lined with parchment paper.

3. Whisk together flour, brown sugar, 1/3 cup granulated white sugar, cinnamon powder, and 1/4 tsp. salt in a large bowl. Cut in butter with a scraper until large clumps form. Lightly stir in the oats with a rubber spatula.

4. In another large bowl, combine plums, lemon juice, remaining sugar and salt, and cornstarch. Toss together with a wooden spoon.

5. Pour plum filling into your prepared pan and evenly distribute the crumble topping over the surface.

6. Bake in the oven for about 50 minutes until browned and bubbling. Cool a little bit, and then serve warm with vanilla icecream.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart's Baking Handbook.

bottom of page