top of page

Korean Glutinous Rice Cake (찰떡 케익)

I love Korean rice cake! When I was in about grade 2, my mom used to make this cake for our family a lot. I had a memory of this nutty, chewy cake that I ate when I was younger, so today I decided to give it a shot. Besides, Korean glutionous rice cake was perfect for fall.

The results? The cake turned out to be chewy but not overly chewy, it had a slight hint of sweetness, and was overall nutty - the best part. Then the cranberries added the burst of flavour. While the cake's interior was chewy, the exterior was a little more crisp, as it should be. I was glad I made this cake!

It's true that this cake is not that tall, but it disappeared in one day. Everyone kept on eating it as they went in and out of the kitchen. :D I personally love Korean baked goods because they're not too sweet and just so yummy. Soon (or maybe not too soon) I'm going to do a post on Korean sweet potato cake! A few things I can do to improve for this cake, however, is to add some sliced almonds on the surface and to smooth out the batter before baking.

Korean Glutinous Rice Cake (Makes one 8-inch cake)

Ingredients:

-40g dried cranberries

-40g walnuts

-40g almonds

-1 egg + 13g of an egg

-80g white granulated sugar

-1/2 tsp. + pinch of baking powder

-1/4 tsp. salt

-375g glutinous rice flour

-285ml milk

-60ml heavy cream

Instructions:

First line a 8-inch cake pan with parchment paper. Then preheat your oven to 170 degrees Celsius.

1. Chop the walnuts, almonds, and cranberries.

2. Place the eggs in a bowl and whisk.

3. Add the sugar and salt and whisk by hand until the mixture is pale yellow.

4. Sift in the glutionous rice flour and baking powder. Add milk and heavy cream and whisk until everything is incorporated.

5. Add the nuts and cranberries and stir them in with a spatula.

6. Fill the cake pan with the batter, sooth out the surface with a spatula, and add sliced almonds if desired.

7. Bake for one hour until golden brown. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from a Korean cookbook named 진짜 기본 베이킹 책 by super recipes. http://www.super-recipe.co.kr/etc_06/etc_s4_01.php?inc=view&idx=130&tbname=notice

bottom of page