top of page

Pumpkin Pie


This pumpkin pie was made on Thanksgiving. That was quite a while ago. Anyways, this pie was delicious! I keep on saying that things tasted delicious but I don't upload any un-yummy stuff on this blog. :)

One thing I am proud of is that I made this pumpkin pie with real pumpkin. Another homemade thing! I was going to take a picture of the whole pumpkin pie but unfortunately, half of it was already eaten by the time I could take one.

The result of the pumpkin pie was great with the soft but firm-enough texture and natural pumpkin flavour. But I also loved the making proccess of it especially because of the silky smooth, natural pumpkin puree. The pie crust was very flaky as well because I had left the dough in the fridge overnight.

So basically, I think this time my pumpkin pie was perfect. The reason is because I made this same pie a few times before, but they were either a little too watery, they cracked a tiny bit, or the pie crust was too soft on the bottom.

Now I'm very proud of this pie because even my older brother, who never used to eat my pumpkin pies, gobbled this one up quickly. Oh, and I made this pie in a new fluted tart tin I had gotten and I loved it!

The recipe instructions are below but here is a video showing you how to make this pumpkin pie:

Pumpkin Pie (Makes one 20cm pie)

FOR THE PIE CRUST (I actually used leftover pie crust from an apple pie I had made the day before)

-200g all-purpose four

-1 tbsp. white granulated sugar

-1/4 tsp. salt

-150g cold butter, cut into cubes

-75ml cold water

Instructions

1. Whisk together flour, sugar, and salt.

2. Add cold butter pieces to your flour mixture and coat each piece with the flour by giving it a light toss with your rubber spatula.

3. With a scraper, cut the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs with some pea-sized grains of butter in it.

4. Add ice water to the mixture. Cut the water into the mixture with your rubber spatula, and when the dough comes together, transfer it to a sheet of plastic wrap.

5. Shape and flatten the dough into a disk and refrigerate for at least 1 hour (or freeze 30 minutes).

FOR THE PUMPKIN FILLING

-375g pumpkin, discard the seeds

-150ml heavy cream

-4 egg yolks

-1 egg white

-90g light brown sugar

1. Roll out the rested pie dough and fit it into the tart tin. Let it rest in the fridge until firm.

2. Slice the pumpkin into large chunks and put them in a pot. Pour water to cover and let it boil on the stove. Continue to do so until the pumpkin is soft and cooked but firm enough to hold its shape.

3. Place the pumpkin chunks in a sieve just to remove the extra water. Let the pumpkin cool a bit, befre removing the skin of the pumpkin chunks with a knife.

Preheat your oven at this point to 180 degrees C.

4. Add the cooked pumpkin and half of the heavy cream to a food processor and pulse until smooth.

5. In a large bowl, whisk together the pumpkin puree, egg yolks, egg white, brown sugar, and the rest of the heavy cream. The finished mixture should be incorporated and quite runny.

6. Prick the bottom of your pie crust with a fork and fill it with the pumpkin filling. Bake the pie for about 35-40 minutes, or until it jiggles slightly when shaken. I used a toothpick to test the doneness. Cool and then enjoy!

bottom of page