top of page

Journal Cover


After I finished my 2015 journal, I decided to make a pretty journal cover for my new diary. The 2015 journal had been started from my birthday in February and had ended at Christmas. The cover was very easy to make!

(Makes a cover for a 20cm tall, 14cm wide, and 1.5cm thick diary)

1. Cut out a floral fabric piece that is 10cm x 23.5cm. Cut out two linen pieces that are 14cm x 23.5cm.

2. Piece together the three pieces using 1cm seam allowance. The linen pieces should be sewn on either side of the floral panel. Press as you go, seams open.

3. Cut out an equally sized piece of fusible interfacing and fuse to the back of the pieced fabric. Topstitch near the edges of both sides of the floral panel.

4. Cut out two 18cm x 23cm linen pieces. Fold each in half lengthwise and press. Raw edges aligning, lay each of these linen pieces on both sides of the half-finished cover.

5. Cut out a floral lining the same size as this whole piece. Lay it right side down, sandwiching the linen flaps.

6. Sew around the whole perimeter using 1cm seam allowance. Leave a 3" opeing for turning.

7. Turn the whole thing right side out. Give it a good ironing and slip stitch the opening closed.

DONE!

I also sewed a very easy pencil case to go along with my journal:

Then I embroidered my journal cover as a finishing touch, as shown in the first photo.

Notebook cover tutorial from ttp://sewforsoul.blogspot.com.tr/2015/04/fabric-notebook-cover-tutorial.html.

Comments


bottom of page