top of page

Business Card Holder

In Istanbul, almost everyone carries around bus cards. These bus cards are the size of a business card and with them you can access the subway, the metro bus, or tramvay, a subway that goes on land. I know the subject of this blog post is "Business Card Holder", but I sewed this thing for my bus card. The good thing about having a case for a bus card is that it's pretty, and you don't even have to remove the case for the machines to detect your card.

One regrettable thing about this thing I sewed, however, is that I used velcro. When I sewed it, I didn't have those snap closures on hand. But now I have them. :) As well, I wish I could topstitch a little neater. That there is the best I can do! Still, I like this card holder and I use it all the time when I go outside with my family or friends.

Business Card Holder

Materials

1. Cut out your pieces according to this pdf pattern: http://www.fishsticksdesigns.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/FD_KeychainGiftCardWalletPattern.pdf

I obtained this pdf from the blog Skip to my Lou and this tutorial is from that blog as well: http://www.skiptomylou.org/key-chain-gift-card-wallet/

As I mentioned, you will also need velcro/snap closures and a key ring.

Steps

2. To make the tab, fold the piece in half the short way, wrong sides together. Press. Unfold and fold the two raw edges of the piece towards the center. Press. Fold the entire piece in half following the center crease and press. Topstitch the open side with 1/8" seam allowance.

3. Fuse the interfacing piece to the back of the outer piece. Attach the tab by folding it in half and aligning its raw edges with the bottom right corner of the outer piece. The bottom of the outer piece is the area where it curves inward. Baste the tab 3/4" above from the bottom edge of the outer piece using 1/8" seam allowance.

4. Pin the outer piece and the lining piece right sides together. Sew around its perimeter using 1/4" seam allowance. Leave a 2 1/2" opening on one long side.

5. Clip the corners, trim, and turn right side out. Poke out all the corners and sides neatly and press.

6. Lay the entire piece on your worksurface so that the lining is up. Fold the bottom of the outer piece up 2 1/4" and press. Pin. Topstitch around the perimeter of the whole thing using 1/4" seam allowance. Start from the bottom left, go up and around the curve, then down the right side.

7. Fold the top of the piece down 1 1/2" and press.

8. Sew on a button for embellishment.

9. Finally, aquire two velcro pieces or snap closures and sew them on to the top flap and bottom flap. Attach a key ring to the tab.

Very simple!

bottom of page