top of page

Memo Organizer

Today I utilized snap closures for the first time. I think snap closures make a sewing project more sophisticated, although the proccess of me sewing snaps was not that sophisticated.

This memo organizer was actually my mom's birthday present, which I made along with a yellow cake with chocolate frosting.

As you can see in the photo below, one side of the holder has a long pocket to store things like stickers or notebook tabs, and has two little pockets to store objects like little sticky notes, cards, erasers, or little pencils.

The other side of the holder has one large pocket where you slide in a notepad.

And.. There's the snap closure. You fold the whole holder in half then close it with that latch. It was actually really funny while I was sewing on those snaps. I thought they were supposed to be sewn on like buttons and criss-crossed the thread. >.< At last I searched it up in the internet and realized that you sew each hole at the edge of the snap on to the fabric.

I followed a tutorial from LBG Studios to make this organizer: http://www.lbg-studio.com/2011/10/12-days-of-christmas-blog-hop-organizer.html

But I did not have time to take photos of each step because this was a last-minute birthday gift! The only thing I changed in the tutorial is that I made the latch by myself and also used 2 main pieces of fusible interfacing instead of adding another cotton batting.

bottom of page